Licensing Process for the State of Maryland
Maryland requires that each candidate for a real estate sales person’s license successfully complete a 60 hour course in the principles and practices of real estate that includes the Maryland Law Portion. You can take the course online.
Once the class has been completed and passed, you must then take the State Test. You are notified immediately of your pass status. The Brokers’ and Salespersons’ examinations each consist of two parts, a national portion and a state portion. Candidates must pass each portion of the examination with a grade of at least 70%. Candidates who pass one portion retain credit for passage of that portion for one year. Applicants who pass both portions shall apply for licensure within one year or the score expires and the exam must be retaken.
PSI Examination Services administers examination services for the Real Estate Commission. Examinations for all real estate license categories are given daily Monday through Friday at PSI’s testing centers, located in Baltimore, College Park, Salisbury, Hagerstown, Lanham and Crofton. Test dates are by appointment only and confirmed in writing. The exam is by computer and is two hours in length. The standard exam fee is $66.00.
The Maryland requirements are only the first step to starting your real estate career. As you go through the process of earning your license, you’ll need to be affiliated with a broker so you can practice when licensed.
Once you passed your licensing exam and have a sponsoring broker, you will officially apply for your Maryland real estate salesperson license with the Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation.